LMT News

News of people and events important to the Lubrication Management community


Mark Samolczyk, senior vice president of corporate planning and development for The Timken Company, has assumed the chairmanship of ABMA, the American Bearing Manufacturers Association (www.abma-dc.org). The fourth Timken executive to take on this role, his term will end in March 2009.

Timken has been involved with ABMA since its inception in 1917. Throughout its 91 years of operation, the association has served as the collective voice of the American bearing industry, working with government officials on public policy and international trade matters that affect the ability of bearing makers to compete fairly in a global economic environment. The organization also works to define international standards for bearing products.

During his term, Samolczyk sees the promotion of the bearing industry as one of the organization’s primary opportunities. As chairman, he will also be involved in the continued development of the World Bearing Association (WBA), a group formed in 2006 by ABMA, the Japanese Bearing Industrial Association and the Federation of European Bearing Manufacturers Association. This industry group addresses matters such as the environment, counterfeiting and trade issues within the bearing industry.

The Water Environment Federation (WEF) has announced the 2008 state winners of the U.S. Stockholm Junior Water Prize (SJWP)—the most prestigious youth award for a waterrelated science project. WEF Member Associations selected and will sponsor state winners and their science teachers to attend the national competition, hosted by the Florida Water Environment Association, June 19-21, 2008 in Orlando, fl. (Go towww.wef.org for a complete list of state winners.) The purpose of the SJWP program is to increase students’ interest in water-related issues and research and to raise awareness about global water challenges. The competition is open to projects aimed at enhancing the quality of life through improvement of water quality, water resources management, water protection and water and wastewater treatment.

The U.S. winner will receive $3000 (USD) and an allexpense- paid trip to Stockholm, Sweden for the international competition, as well as the opportunity to present his/her research to water quality experts at WEFTEC® 08, the Federation’s 81st annual technical exhibition and conference slated for Chicago, IL this October. In addition, the U.S. winner’s school will receive $1000 toward enhancing science education. Up to three finalists also will receive $1000 each.

In the United States, WEF and its Member Associations organize the national, state and regional SJWP competitions with support from ITT Corporation (also the international sponsor), the Coca-Cola Company and Delta Air Lines.

The international competition takes place in Stockholm during World Water Week, August 17-23. The winner of that competition will receive $5000 (USD) presented during a royal ceremony by the prize’s Patron HRH Crown Princess Victoria of Sweden.

CAGI, the Compressed Air & Gas Institute (www.cagi.org), has announced the winners of its first annual student competition, the 2007-2008 National Innovation Awards contest. The invitation-only awards program challenges students to create pioneering designs that use compressed air as the power source for machine tool applications, motion control devices, consumer products or other unique applications. Teams from Virginia Tech, Purdue, the Milwaukee School of Engineering and the University of Minnesota submitted projects that were judged on innovation, marketability and presentation. Team CIRCA (Climbing Inspection Robot with Compressed Air), made up of engineering students from Virginia Tech, won first place. Their project used compressed air to power a serpentine robot designed for inspecting unsafe or hard-to-reach areas such as bridge structures, tall utility poles, or even scaffolding or girders in construction sites. Second place was awarded to Team Turbocharger of Virginia Tech for its Turbocharger Test Stand for use in bearing testing and turbocharger shaft vibration measurement. Honorable mention went to Team Stressed and Compressed of the Milwaukee School of Engineering. Their entry, the Saucer Tosser, accelerates a clay disc through the air with the use of a compressed piston. The Saucer Tosser would be used in clay pigeon shooting.

In its ongoing efforts to provide assistance to students entering the growing international field of occupational safety, health and the environment (SH&E), the American Society of Safety Engineers’ (ASSE) Foundation recently announced the names of the 39 recipients of the 2008 annual SH&E scholarships funded by the continued support of corporations, ASSE Regions and Chapters, members and individuals.

The ASSE Foundation is awarding $102,280 in scholarships this year for undergraduate and graduate college students. Scholarship recipients not only will be honored during ASSE’s annual Professional Development Conference (PDC) and Exposition this June in Las Vegas, NV, but some also will have their travel expenses paid for by Foundation supporters, enabling them to participate in this annual professional development conference with safety professionals from more than 35 countries and with more than 200 educational sessions.

For more information, including the list of scholarship winners and supporters, go towww.ASSE.org

The American Consortium for an Energy Efficient Economy (ACEEE) has announced the opening of nominations for its 2008 Champion of Energy Efficiency Awards that recognize leadership and accomplishment in the energy efficiency field. Winners will be selected based on demonstrated excellence in the following categories:

  • Research and Development (R&D)—Excellence in research and development including baseline or background research, as well as R&D of products and practices.
  • Energy Policy—Excellence in energy policy, including writing, educating, promoting or supporting energy effi- ciency in energy policy, at the federal, state or local level.
  • Implementation and Deployment—Effective design and implementation, including achievement of significant impacts on energy use.
  • Leadership—Exceptional personal leadership demonstrated in the development, implementation or growth of important energy efficiency initiatives.

The 2008 Champions awards will be presented at the 2008 ACEEE Summer Study on Energy Efficiency in Buildings in Pacific Grove, CA, scheduled for August 17-22, 2008 at the Asilomar Conference Center. The “Buildings” Summer Study is the premier energy efficiency conference in its field, and draws leading academics, energy efficiency professionals, government representatives, researchers and policymakers. For more details, including information on nominations, nominating forms and how to register for the summer study program, visit www.aceee.org. (Nominations are due by June 20, 2008.)

YOUR NEWS IS OUR NEWS! OUR READERS WANT TO KNOW ALL ABOUT IT. SEND LMT NEWS ITEMS TO:  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it